ME and MY six yards…!!

ME and my SIX yards…

So, when everything else fails, sari prevails!

In today’s changing times w.r.t the clothing a line, wearing a sari looks like the last but one option for many. Strangely for me, this looked like the first and the best option.

I could not help but have a fetish to it as my mother has three cupboards full of em’ and as a child I remember wrapping them up standing in front of the mirror for hours ( yeah yeah, I still do it but now I know how to drape it 😉 …

The times when I missed my mom the most, I remember wrapping her saree around and sleeping.. It was a feeling that I cant express..

There was something about it that lured me to it.. Something feminine.. Something passionate.. Something charming and something ethnic…something that stood out from the other dresses….

The comfort that a sari gives to a dull day is something else totally 🙂

So when I did some research, I got to know that Sari is actually derived from Sanskrit which means #a strip of cloth. Strange, a strip of plain 6 yards of cloth can make a woman look amazingly beautiful and sensuous. The comfort of wearing a simple cotton sari is much more than wearing branded clothing.

It is the only dress that does not humiliate plus sized woman, u don’t have to ask for “your size” in it.. one size fits all.. No embarrassment of telling people weather you are wearing a L, XL, XXL, XXXL etc.. You don’t need to check if it has your waist size.. How wonderfully simple a dress can get!! Just one size for all!!

Dresses come and go, but the spirit of Sari always stands out The joy of wearing one never withers..

Every time I buy a saree, it is a celebration of sorts.. The joy of owning it and the joy of wearing it is something you gotta experience 🙂 A poem is the best way that I can explain my joy for this lovely piece of art that makes woman look like one 🙂

 

Like silk you fall;

I wish I could own u all;

 

Like cotton you stick;

I drape you when im sick;

 

Like chiffon u flow;

It makes me wanna glow;

 

Like kota you stand tall;

Makes a woman look like a doll;

 

Like Banarasi you rise;

Fits woman of all size;

 

Like a net you throw;

What else is left to show?;

 

Styled as a lehanga, Mundu or a madisar;

You are the only one that treats all women at par;

 

Oh, the joy u give when we drape;

Without you, we would look like an ape;

 

Oh, me and six yards;

Without you, I crumble like a deck of cards;

 

4 thoughts on “ME and MY six yards…!!

  1. True that. the saree is a very elegant and beautiful piece of attire that suits any body type. Liked the poem as well but the ‘u’ instead of ‘you,’ was slightly distasteful!

    Joy always,
    Susan

Leave a Reply

